How do you hide friends on Facebook
When you hide your Facebook friends list, you protect your privacy first. Not all information is intended for everyone, especially not in social networks. For example, if an employee sees that his colleague is friends with employees of the competition, this could lead to problems.
In private life, it is also not always practical to reveal all Facebook users who are friends. You may be embarrassed by some so-called friends, or you may not want your new acquaintance to know what your previous girlfriend looks like. In these cases, it can be helpful to hide Facebook friends.
The setting is also worthwhile with regard to data protection. Fraudsters are also on the move in social networks, for example, copying entire profiles and approaching the friends of the hacked user. If you hide your friend's list, you make this impossible and thus not only protect your own profile but indirectly also the pages of your friends.
How do you hide friends on Facebook
Hide Facebook friends step by step
You only need a few clicks to change the settings of your Facebook profile so that your friend's list is only visible to you:
1. First of all, you log into Facebook and click on your username next to the input field. This will bring you to your profile.
2. Several tabs appear below your cover picture, including the Friends tab. Select it by clicking the left mouse button once.
3. In the next step, click on the pencil symbol on the right edge of the mask, next to the Find Friends option. There you can manage your Facebook friends.
4. Select the Edit privacy option.
5. The Friends list item appears in a pop-up window. On the right side, you will find a menu with different options for the display of your Facebook friends. Click the arrow next to the word public.
6. You will find the options Public, Friends, Just Me, and Custom. Select the Just my field and then click the Done button in the lower right corner.
7. Your settings are automatically saved and from now on only you can see your friends list in the social network.
Share friends list with friends
If you don't want to reveal your friend's list to the general public, but you don't want to keep it a secret from your friends, click on Friends instead of just me under point 6. So all Facebook users who are friends with you can see your friends list. To get into a conversation with some of them, you can start a group chat - you can find out what's new in this feature in this guide.
Give special permission to individual friends
You don't want to reveal or hide all of your Facebook friends on the list? For those who are undecided, the network has another option in store for the list of friends. You can use the profile settings to give individual friends or entire groups special permission to view the friend's list. You can also choose to deny individual Facebook users or groups access to your friend's list.
If you prefer this intermediate route, here's how:
- Follow the step-by-step instructions as described above. Under point 6, select Custom, and in the additional window called Individual privacy, enter the names or groups with which you would like to share your friend's list.
- In the same way, you can also enter the names of Facebook users or groups with whom you do not want to share the information in the second option.
Restrictions on hiding the friend's list
What is the central idea of Facebook? The social network enables users to exchange ideas with friends all over the world - the friend's list is the heart of every user profile. For this, Facebook has built-in a small restriction that sets privacy limits.
- It is not possible to completely hide your friends on Facebook.
- The list of all friendly users can be hidden from others using the instructions described above, but mutual friends are still displayed.
- Specifically, this means: If a user visits a friend's profile, he will always be able to see the people in the friend's list with whom he is friends - regardless of which settings the other has chosen for his profile.
The individual decision of each user
You like to exchange ideas with your friends on Facebook and are happy that your friend's list is getting longer and longer. But sharing information about you and your acquaintances with the whole network gives you a stomach ache? Rightly so, because sensitive data can fall into the wrong hands and be used for fraud. With just a few clicks you can adjust the privacy in the social network. So it is possible that only you can see your friends list or share it with friends and selected Facebook users.
